The Hollygrove Market Experience

To me, the best part of the Eat Local Challenge has been getting out of my comfort zone and exploring different markets around town! This week, I decided to head over to the Hollygrove Market and grab some food for a few to-be-determined delicious, local, and home-cooked meals. Every item they offer is locally produced, which makes it super easy to abide by the ELC rules. My favorite finds are below:

Produce Section: I grabbed some butternut squash, cucumbers, carrots, potatoes, and blueberries. The butternut squash made for an amazingly fresh soup, which was fast and easy to chef up. I also made a big salad with the other vegetables and blueberries. I portioned it out in a couple of mason jars to have them for the next couple of days. For the dressing, I mashed some blueberries and added some vinegar – all bought from Hollygrove Market – to make a sweet vinaigrette.

Protein Department: I bought a couple of steaks and cooked them to perfection. I have a method down where I pan sear the steak for just a minute on each side and then put then put them in the oven for about seven minutes on 300 degrees. It comes out medium to medium rare, which is my preference.

Somethign Sweet: The Progress Farm yogurt is seriously some of the finest yogurt money can buy. It’s so creamy and tastes like you’re eating it on the farm it came from. It great for a breakfast parfait, smoothie, or honestly just by itself!

-David Miller

 

Leave a comment